Sydney Peace Prize Events

Every year, the Sydney Peace Foundation unites people from all walks of life to celebrate the awarding of the Sydney Peace Prize. For 20 years, it has brought inspiring and exemplary stories of vision and courage to the Australian and Sydney stage, encouraging public debate and inspiring people to take action to further peace and justice in their own communities.

At the City of Sydney Peace Prize Lecture at the Sydney Town Hall, everyone has a chance to hear the recipient speak and be inspired by their leadership and dedication. The public Award Ceremony is a very special part of this event.

At the Peace Prize Dinner, guests come together to celebrate the incredible achievements of our Laureates in the struggle for peace, justice, human rights and nonviolence. This is the Foundation’s main fundraising event of the year, and it is crucial to the continuation of the Sydney Peace Prize.

The Prize is awarded to individuals or organisations whose role and responsibilities enable them to use the $50,000 award to further peace with justice. Your donation to the Sydney Peace Foundation, makes a tangible impact by helping Laureates continue their vital work for a fairer world.

Click here to further peace with your donation  Sign up for event updates

City of Sydney Peace Prize Lecture

The City of Sydney Peace Prize Lecture is an inspirational annual address delivered by the year’s Sydney Peace Prize recipient, which takes place at Sydney Town Hall in early November to a sell-out crowd.

More about past Lectures here

Sydney Peace Prize Dinner

The Sydney Peace Prize Dinner attracts an audience of over 250 of Sydney’s corporate, government, NGO and university leaders, who gather to celebrate the achievements of the year’s Sydney Peace Prize recipient.

Peace Prize Laureates have received the award from former Governors General, Prime Ministers, Premiers, the Governor of NSW and the Lord Mayor of Sydney.

Sir William Deane presented the Prize to Professor Muhammad Yunus in 1998 and to Archbishop Tutu in 1999, Sir Ninian Stephens to Mary Robinson in 2002, Premier Carr to Dr. Hanan Ashrawi in 2003, Prime Minister Keating to Dr. Hans Blix in 2007.

Prime Minister Rudd presented the award to Patrick Dodson in 2008; The Hon Dame Professor Marie Bashir to Dr. Vandana Shiva in 2010, Professor Noam Chomsky in 2011 and Julian Burnside AO QC in 2016; and The Lord Mayor Clover Moore to Zimbabwean Minister for Reconciliation Sekai Holland in 2012, Dr Cynthia Maung in 2013 and George Gittoes in 2015.