Sydney Peace Prize Dinner

The Sydney Peace Prize Gala Dinner and Award Ceremony is one of two premier annual events of the Sydney Peace Foundation.

It is the Foundation’s annual fundraising event, and this formal dinner attracts an audience of over 250 of Sydney’s top corporate, government, NGO and university leaders, who gather to celebrate the achievements of the year’s Sydney Peace Prize recipient.

Purchase ticketsMore information



IMG_9449In the past the Sydney Peace Prize was awarded at the Gala Dinner. Previous Peace Prize recipients have received the award from former Governors General, Prime Ministers, Premiers, the Governor of NSW and the Lord Mayor of Sydney.

Sir William Deane presented the Prize to Professor Muhammad Yunus in 1998 and to Archbishop Tutu in 1999, Sir Ninian Stephens to Mary Robinson in 2002, Premier Carr Brochure - Governer and Pilgerto Dr. Hanan Ashrawwebsite - Blix and Keating 2i in 2003, Prime Minister Keating to Dr. Hans Blix in 2007.

Prime Minister Rudd presented the award to Patrick Dodson in 2008; The Hon Dame Professor Marie Bashir to Dr. Vandana Shiva in 2010, Professor Noam Chomsky in 2011 and Julian Burnside AO QC in 2016; and The Lord Mayor Clover Moore to Zimbabwean Minister for Reconciliation Sekai Holland in 2012, Dr Cynthia Maung in 2013 and IMG_4138George Gittoes in 2015.