Title Image


“Conversations in Peace”: let the 14 first Sydney Peace Prize lectures inspire you

The first 14 recipients of the Sydney Peace Prize (1998-2011) include Nobel Laureates Muhammad Yunus and Archbishop Desmond Tutu, former leader of Amnesty International Irene Khan, the Indian novelist Arundhati Roy, environmental scientist Dr. Vandana Shiva, Aboriginal leader Patrick Dodson, and the inimitable academic activist Professor Noam Chomsky.

These inspiring individuals aspire to a future in which respect for human rights is universal and unchallenged. In highly creative ways they show how poverty can be eradicated, non-violence embraced, the rich and powerful persuaded that peace with justice is precious, and that violence of any kind is not only contrary to any notion of a common humanity, but also serves no purpose.

This volume not only pays homage to the wonderful recipients of the Sydney Peace Prize, Australia’s only international prize for peace, but also serves to honour Professor Stuart Rees, founder of the Sydney Peace Foundation and the Sydney Peace Prize. The book was edited by Lynda Ann Blanchard and Hannah Middleton, and launched in August 2015 by Dame Marie Bashir.

Get your copy now!

Copies of Conversations in Peace are available for purchase online now for only $20!

To purchase a copy of the book online please click the link below:

[button link=”https://sydney.onestopsecure.com/onestopweb/V9P/tran?UDS_ACTION=DEFAULT&UDS_ACTION_DATA=1148″ window=”yes”]ORDER NOW[/button]

For cheque orders please download the Manual Order Form and post it to:

Sydney Peace Foundation

Mackie Building K01

University of Sydney  NSW  2006

Copies are also available for purchase through the Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies office if you would prefer to pickup your copy today!